• Archives

  • Pages

  • Meta

Stan Persky wins literary honour

Stan Persky

Thursday, April 8, 2010
Contact:  Shelley Kean at 604.983.7596

(NORTH VANCOUVER, B.C.)–Congratulations to Capilano University Philosophy instructor, Stan Persky, winner of the 2010 Lieutenant-Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence.

The $5,000 prize rewards established B.C. writers for contributing to the growth of literary excellence in the province. Previous winners include Jack Hodgins, Patrick Lane and the late P.K. Page.

Born in Chicago in 1941, Persky began to make his mark on B.C. in the 1960s, when he co-founded the Georgia Straight Writing Supplements, which led to the establishment of New Star Books, a Vancouver publishing house.

An essayist and author, Persky also has taught philosophy at Capilano University for many years.

From Berlin, where he has spent part of each year since 1990, he said by e-mail: “I received the lieutenant-governor’s letter informing me of the reward April 1, so I immediately assumed it was an April Fool’s joke. Once I persuaded myself that it wasn’t a seasonal hoax or a quirky display of the L-G’s sense of humour, I immediately thought of the names of about 20 other writers in B.C. who are probably more deserving of receiving this honour than I am.”

Persky has produced 20 books, including The Short Version and Topic Sentence.

Terry Glavin, who won the award in 2009, said of Persky: “His grace as an essayist, his curiosity and independence of thought as a critic and newspaper columnist, and his exuberance as a civil rights activist and a leading voice of the gay community have enriched us all. Stan Persky is our Socrates.”

Persky said he expects to donate the money to charity.

2 Responses

  1. […] with the award by the Honourable Steven Point on April 24th.  He commented in an email to Capilano University Newsroom that “I received the lieutenant-governor’s letter informing me of the reward April 1, so I […]

  2. Congratulations on your award, Mr. Persky. You are well-deserving of it. I had you as an instructor in the long ago Writing Practices.

    I am trying to write a book myself–about Karl John Roestad, who in 1971 was charged with homosexual pedophilia. He sexually molested 20 boys under the age of 13.

    If you can think of any way you may offer a bit of information–should you have heard of Karl–it would be greatly appreciated. I have a personal interest in Karl–he was my mother’s cousin,

    all the best,

    Linda Carpenter

Leave a Reply

