• Archives

  • Pages

  • Meta

Capilano University’s Lieutenant Governor’s Silver Medal recipient for 2011

Capilano University Legal Administrative Assistant student, Graham Caulfield, is the 2011 recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Silver Medal.

Capilano University Legal Administrative Assistant student, Graham Caulfied, found the 2011 Lieutenant Governor’s Silver Medal to be a tasty treat at November’s convocation ceremony.

Established in 1979 by the Ministry of Advanced Education, the Lieutenant Governor’s Silver Medal is awarded to a student in a vocational or career program of less than two years duration who has excelled in his or her studies and who has contributed in a positive way to the life of their post-secondary institution or their community.

In his own words, Graham says:

“I returned full-time to Capilano University back in January after having been away for nearly 15 years. I spent the majority of that time working in the restaurant industry as well as for a ticket broker during the Olympics. It was during these formative years that I gained a wide range of experience in administration, customer service while dealing with the public, and developed strong interpersonal skills through the management of human resources.

After the Olympics concluded, I took an intensive three-week long Career Exploration Program that was instrumental in my realization that a career in the legal world was something that excited me and that I became very committed to undertaking.

The Legal Administrative Assistant Program at Capilano University turned out to be the perfect fit for me. I achieved Dean’s List for both the spring and summer terms and was awarded one of the top scholarships provided by Davis LLP. One of the most appealing aspects of my studies was the variety of areas of practice covered throughout the program and the incredible support and encouragement I received from my instructors. The time I spent at Davis during my two-week practicum at the end of August increased my interest in all aspects of the legal field.

As a result, I am pleased to be continuing my education in legal studies here at Capilano University having been accepted into the two-year Paralegal Diploma program that started in September. I’m very much looking forward to continuing down this path towards a fulfilling and meaningful career in the legal field.”

Leave a Reply

